Livestock biosecurity program contacts

Page last updated: Monday, 7 January 2019 - 4:50pm

Please note: This content may be out of date and is currently under review.

Protect your markets and human health - report livestock disease to a vet

The earlier diseases are reported to a vet, the faster they can be controlled, minimising the impact on individual farmers and industry. To report unusual disease signs, abnormal behaviour or unexpected deaths in your livestock, contact:

  • your private vet
  • your closest DPIRD field vet - see table below, or
  • the Emergency Animal Disease hotline 1800 675 888 (not to be used for general agriculture enquiries).

Field Veterinary Officers - contact details

Albany

Dr Andrew Larkins
andrew.larkins@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9892 8530
+61 (0) 438 610 437

Broome

 

Dr Graham MacKereth
graham.mackereth@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9194 1420
+61 (0)477 358 066

Bunbury

Dr Kevin Hepworth
kevin.hepworth@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9780 6282
+61 (0)475 834 486

Katanning

Dr Kristine Rayner
kristine.rayner@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9821 3248
+61 (0)459 880 384

Merredin

Dr Rod Thompson
rod.thompson@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9690 2156
+61 (0)467 766 720

Moora

Dr Courtenay Bombara
courtenay.bombara@dpird.wa.gov.au 
+61 (0)8 9651 0555
+61 (0)418 835 658

Narrogin

Dr Anna Erickson
anna.erickson@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9881 0211
+61 (0)437 801 416

Northam

Dr Rod Thompson
rod.thompson@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9690 2156
+61 (0)467 766 720

Livestock Biosecurity Policy and Planning

Director Livestock Biosecurity
Dr Peter Gray

+61 (0)8 9368 3342
peter.gray@dpird.wa.gov.au

Chief Veterinary Officer
Dr Michelle Rodan

+61 (0)8 9368 3342
michelle.rodan@dpird.wa.gov.au

Acting Deputy Chief Veterinary Officer
Dr Jamie Finkelstein
+61 (0)8 9368 3342
jamie.finkelstein@dpird.wa.gov.au

Emergency Animal Disease Preparedness
Dr Sue Skirrow

+61 (0)8 9892 8490
sue.skirrow@dpird.wa.gov.au

Livestock Biosecurity communications
Suzy Norton and Sherin Omran

+61 (0)8 9368 3367
suzanna.norton@dpird.wa.gov.au

+61 (08) 9368 3151
sherin.omran@dpird.wa.gov.au

Livestock Biosecurity administration
Clare Smale

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9368 3342


Animal Integrity Systems (veterinary chemicals, stock identification, movement, NLIS, stockfeed)

Project Manager and Brands Registrar
Dr Bob Vassallo

+61 (0)8 9780 6203
robert.vassallo@dpird.wa.gov.au

Livestock identification and Brands, National Livestock Identification System (NLIS)

1300 926 547
(1300 WA NLIS)
brands@dpird.wa.gov.au

NLIS operations manager
Beth Green

+61 (0)8 9780 6159
beth.green@dpird.wa.gov.au

Veterinary chemicals
Emily Lewis

+61 (0)8 9780 6130
emily.lewis@dpird.wa.gov.au

Stockfeed
Dr Katie Webb

+61 (0)8 9780 6255
katie.webb@dpird.wa.gov.au

Animal Health Surveillance

Project Manager
Dr Marion Seymour

+61 (0)8 9651 0534
marion.seymour@dpird.wa.gov.au

National Arbovirus Monitoring Program (NAMP)
Dr Marion Seymour

+61 (0)8 9651 0534
marion.seymour@dpird.wa.gov.au

National Significant Disease Investigation program WA coordinator
Dr Kevin Hepworth

+61 (0)8 9780 6282
kevin.hepworth@dpird.wa.gov.au

National Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathies (TSE) Program
Dr Katie Webb

+61 (08) 9780 6255
katie.webb@dpird.wa.gov.au 

Sheep, goats and horse biosecurity
Dr Anna Erickson

+61 (0)8 9881 0211
anna.erickson@dpird.wa.gov.au

Cattle biosecurity
Dr Bruce Twentyman

+61 (0)8 9363 4127
bruce.twentyman@dpird.wa.gov.au

Pig biosecurity
Dr Sue Skirrow

+61 (0)8 9892 8490
sue.skirrow@dpird.wa.gov.au

Poultry biosecurity
Dr Nicole Tan

+61 (0)8 9368 3316
nicole.tan@dpird.wa.gov.au

Wildlife surveillance

+61 (0)8 9368 3342

DPIRD Diagnostic Laboratory Services (DDLS) -
Animal pathology

Sample submission enquiries
+61 (0)8 9368 3351

Animal Disease Control

Project Manager
Dr Bruce Twentyman

+61 (0)8 9363 4127
bruce.twentyman@dpird.wa.gov.au

Ovine Johne's disease
operations coordinator
Dr Anna Erickson

+61 (0)8 9881 0211

anna.erickson@dpird.wa.gov.au

Johne's disease in cattle
operations coordinator
Dr Bruce Twentyman

+61 (0)8 9363 4127
bruce.twentyman@dpird.wa.gov.au

Ovine brucellosis
Dr Kristine Rayner

+61 (0)8 9821 3248
kristine.rayner@dpird.wa.gov.au

Footrot activity manager
Dr Jenny Cotter

+61 (0)8 9892 8421
jennifer.cotter@dpird.wa.gov.au

Footrot operations manager
Peta Fissioli

+61 (0)8 9690 2118
peta.fissioli@dpird.wa.gov.au

Post-border liver fluke
enquiries
Leigh Sonneman

+61 (0)8 9368 3154
leigh.sonneman@dpird.wa.gov.au

Livestock Movement Operations:
importations into WA
and client enquiries

Kirsten Hall

Tel: +61 (0)8 9334 1800
Fax: +61 (0)8 9334 1888
kirsten.hall@dpird.wa.gov.au

 

Contact information

Livestock Biosecurity