Animal Biosecurity & Welfare program contacts for Western Australia

Page last updated: Tuesday, 12 July 2022 - 9:55am

The Animal Biosecurity and Welfare program within the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development (DPIRD) manages evidence-based systems to maintain and verify our high animal health, food safety and animal welfare status.

These systems underpin our export and domestic markets and assure consumers that our livestock products are free of residues, contaminants and disease agents and are produced in accordance with animal welfare standards.

Listed below are key program contacts for Animal Biosecurity and Welfare.

Animal Biosecurity and Welfare program management

Chief Veterinary Officer
Dr Michelle Rodan

michelle.rodan@dpird.wa.gov.au

Deputy Chief Veterinary Officer -
Surveillance & Control
Dr Mark Cozens

mark.cozens@dpird.wa.gov.au

Emergency Animal Disease Preparedness
Dr Sarah Kahn

+61 (0)8 9368 3664
sarah.kahn@dpird.wa.gov.au

Animal Welfare Policy
Keith Claymore
 

+61 (0)8 9368 3575 
keith.claymore@dpird.wa.gov.au

Aquatic Animal Health
Dr Katie Webb

+61 (0)8 9780 6255
katie.webb@dpird.wa.gov.au

Policy and Planning
Dr Jamie Finkelstein

+61 (0)8 9368 3805
jamie.finkelstein@dpird.wa.gov.au
Product Integrity
Dr Brad McCormick

+61 (0)8 9780 6161
brad.mccormick@dpird.wa.gov.au

Field Service Delivery
Dr Bruce Twentyman

+61 (0)8  9363 4127
bruce.twentyman@dpird.wa.gov.au

Surveillance and Control Policy
Dr Marion Seymour

+61 (0)8 9651 0534
marion.seymour@dpird.wa.gov.au

Surveillance programs and biosecurity contacts

National Arbovirus Monitoring Program (NAMP)

 

​​​National Significant Disease Investigation program

 

National Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathies (TSE) Program

+61 (0)8 9651 0534
marion.seymour@dpird.wa.gov.au

 

+61 (0)8 9780 6185
courtenay.bombara@dpird.wa.gov.au

 

+61 (0)8 9780 6185
courtenay.bombara@dpird.wa.gov.au

Johne's disease in sheep
Dr Courtenay Bombara

 

Ovine brucellosis
Dr Kristine Rayner

 

Footrot
Dr Anna Erickson

+61 (0)8 9780 6185
courtenay.bombara@dpird.wa.gov.au

 

+61 (0)8 9845 7413
kristine.rayner@dpird.wa.gov.au

 

+61 (0)8 9881 0211
anna.erickson@dpird.wa.gov.au

Cattle biosecurity
Dr Herb Rovay


Johne's disease in cattle
Dr Courtenay Bombara

+61 (0)8 9368 3604
herbert.rovay@dpird.wa.gov.au

+61 (0)8 9780 6185
courtenay.bombara@dpird.wa.gov.au

Pig biosecurity
Dr Diana Turpin

+61 (0)8 9368 3343
diana.turpin@dpird.wa.gov.au

Wildlife surveillance
Dr Siva Thayaparan

+61 (0)8 9368 3813
sivapiragasam.thayaparan@dpird.wa.gov.au
Surveillance and disease control - subsidies for disease investigations Subsidy forms for veterinary investigations

Laboratory testing

DPIRD Diagnostics & Laboratory Services (DDLS) - Animal pathology

Lab sample submission form

Sample submission enquiries
+61 (0)8 9368 3351

DPIRD field vet contacts

Protect your markets and human health - report livestock disease to a vet

The earlier diseases are reported to a vet, the faster they can be controlled, minimising the impact on individual farmers and industry. To report unusual disease signs, abnormal behaviour or unexpected deaths in your livestock, contact:

  • your private vet
  • your closest DPIRD field vet - see table below, or
  • the Emergency Animal Disease hotline 1800 675 888 (not to be used for general agriculture enquiries).

See also: Subsidies available for eligible disease investigations.

Albany

+61 (0)8 9892 8444

Broome

 

Dr Graham Mackereth
graham.mackereth@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9194 1420
+61 (0)477 358 066

Bunbury

Dr Courtenay Bombara
courtenay.bombara@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9780 6185
+61 (0)408 672 946

Geraldton

Dr Izzy Drage
izzy.drage@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9956 8554
+61 (0)409 899 634

Katanning

Dr Courtenay Bombara
courtenay.bombara@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9780 6185
+61 (0)408 672 946

Kununurra

Dr Isabel MacPhillamy
isabel.macphillamy@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9166 4016
+61 (0)460 037 145

Moora

+61 (0)8 9651 0555 

Narrogin

Dr Anna Erickson
anna.erickson@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9881 0211
+61 (0)437 801 416

Northam

Dr Herb Rovay
herbert.rovay@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9368 3604
+61 (0)459 880 384

Perth metro/
peri-urban

Dr Herb Rovay
herbert.rovay@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9368 3604
+61 (0)459 880 384

On-call vet all areas

Emergency Animal Disease Watch Hotline
1800 675 888

Product Integrity contacts (Brands, stock ID, NLIS and stock movement; chemical use and stockfeed)

1300 926 547
(1300 WA NLIS)
nlis@dpird.wa.gov.au

Brands Registration office Brands.Bunbury@dpird.wa.gov.au

NLIS and traceability
Registrar of stock and apiaries
Beth Green

+61 (0)8 9780 6159
+61 (0)427 388 433
beth.green@dpird.wa.gov.au

Veterinary chemicals
Dr Martin Matisons

+61 (0)8 9368 3634
martin.matisons@dpird.wa.gov.au

Animal feed
Brett McLarty

+61 (0)8 9368 3142
brett.mclarty@dpird.wa.gov.au

Livestock import and export contacts

EXPORTERS

livestockbiosecurity@dpird.wa.gov.au

IMPORTERS

Tel: +61 (0)8 9334 1800
Fax: +61 (0)8 9334 1888
kirsten.hall@dpird.wa.gov.au

 

 

 

leigh.sonnemann@dpird.wa.gov.au

 

Contact information

Livestock Biosecurity