Declared plants

To protect Western Australian agriculture the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development regulates harmful plants under the Biosecurity and Agriculture Management Act 2007.

Plants that are prevented entry into the State or have control or keeping requirements within the State are known as declared pests.

The Western Australian Organism List (WAOL) contains information on the area(s) in which a plant is declared and the control and keeping categories to which it has been assigned in WA.

If you need advice on declared plants please search for articles below in our website or:


  • Pine cone cactus (Tephrocactus articulatus) is a declared pest in Western Australia (WA).

  • Three-horned bedstraw, bedstraw, rough bedstraw, rough fruit corn bedstraw, corn cleavers (Galium tricornutum) is a declared pest in Western Australia (WA).

  • The Skeleton Weed Program is a coordinated approach to managing skeleton weed in Western Australia.

  • Praxelis (Praxelis clematidea) is a declared pest in Western Austral

  • This article contains useful information about Paterson's curse (Echium plantagineum), how to identify it and biological control agents.

  • A list containing links to descriptions and chemical controls for declared plants and a calendar of operation for declared and other trouble plants.

  • Control methods for apple of Sodom (Solanum linnaeanum) a declared pest in Western Australia.

  • The Transforming Regional Biosecurity Response forums held in October 2016 brought together community, industry and government to develop a collaborative approach to 

  • The opuntioid cacti (except for Austrocylindropuntia vestitaCylindropuntia californica

  • Skeleton weed (Chondrilla juncea) is a declared pest in Western Australia (WA).