Declared plants

To protect Western Australian agriculture the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development regulates harmful plants under the Biosecurity and Agriculture Management Act 2007.

Plants that are prevented entry into the State or have control or keeping requirements within the State are known as declared pests.

The Western Australian Organism List (WAOL) contains information on the area(s) in which a plant is declared and the control and keeping categories to which it has been assigned in WA.

If you need advice on declared plants please search for articles below in our website or:


  • Tutsan (Hypericum andro

  • Three-horned bedstraw, bedstraw, rough bedstraw, rough fruit corn bedstraw, corn cleavers (Galium tricornutum) is a declared pest in Western Australia (WA).

  • Thornapples, common thornapple (Datura stramonium), fierce thornapple (Datura ferox), Leichhardt’s or Mexican thornapple (Datura leichhardtii),

  • Thatching reed, dekreiet, albertina thatching reed (

  • Stemless thistle (Onopordum acaulon) is a declared pest in Western Australia (WA).

  • Handy links for information on declared plants in Western Australia.

  • St. John's wort, klamathweed, goatweed (Hypericum perforatum) is a common weed in the lower southwest of Western Australia (WA).

  • Skeleton weed (Chondrilla juncea) is a declared pest in Western Australia (WA).

  • Sida (Sida acuta and Sida cordifolia) are weeds found in the Kimberley region of Western Australia (WA).

  • Sicklepod (Senna obtusifolia) is a declared pest in Western Australia (WA).