TPP Quarantine Area

Page last updated: Friday, 7 July 2023 - 11:11am

Please note: This content may be out of date and is currently under review.

A Quarantine Area Notice is in place that applies restrictions to the movement of host plants produced in the Quarantine Area to other areas in the state where tomato-potato psyllid is not known to occur.

The Quarantine Area Notice can be downloaded from this page.

Quarantine Area Notice

  • A Quarantine Area Notice (QAN) for tomato-potato psyllid is in effect in Western Australia. 
  • The QAN requires host plants such as seedlings or nursery stockoriginating from the designated Quarantine Areato be treated in an approved manner prior to being moved to the specified local government districts of Broome and Wyndham-East Kimberley. 
  • The Quarantine Area includes the Perth metropolitan area, and the local government districts listed in the QAN (see table below). 
  • The QAN was developed in consultation with WA’s horticultural industry and applies to commercially-produced and home-grown host plants or nursery stock grown within the Quarantine Area.

Treatment options

What local government districts are included in the Quarantine Area?

The Quarantine Area includes the Perth metropolitan area and the following local government districts. These are the red areas shown on the map below.

  • Albany
  • Augusta-Margaret River
  • Beverley
  • Boddington
  • Boyup Brook
  • Bridgetown-Greenbushes
  • Brookton
  • Broomehill - Tambellup
  • Bunbury
  • Busselton
  • Capel
  • Carnamah
  • Carnarvon
  • Chapman Valley
  • Chittering
  • Collie
  • Coorow
  • Cranbrook
  • Cuballing
  • Dandaragan
  • Dardanup
  • Denmark
  • Donnybrook-Balingup
  • Esperance
  • Gingin
  • Gnowangerup
  • Greater Geraldton
  • Harvey
  • Irwin
  • Jerramungup
  • Kojonup
  • Mandurah
  • Manjimup
  • Mingenew
  • Moora
  • Morawa
  • Murray
  • Nannup
  • Narrogin
  • Northam
  • Northampton
  • Pingelly
  • Plantagenet
  • Ravensthorpe 
  • Shark Bay 
  • Three Springs
  • Toodyay
  • Victoria Plains
  • Wagin
  • Wandering
  • Waroona
  • West Arthur
  • Wickepin
  • Williams
  • Woodanilling
  • York

What are the specified local government districts?

Specified local government districts are horticultural production areas where tomato-potato psyllid has not been detected. These are the green areas shown on the map below and include:

  • Broome
  • Wyndham-East Kimberley

More information on the QAN

See the QAN Frequently Asked Questions on this page for more information.

Quarantine Area Map


Map of TPP Quarantine Area