Department amalgamation

Page last updated: Tuesday, 28 March 2023 - 3:58pm

Please note: This content may be out of date and is currently under review.

The Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development was established on 1 July 2017. 

It brought together the former departments of Agriculture and Food, Fisheries and Regional Development and the staff of nine Regional Development Commissions to provide a strong and unified service for Western Australia’s vital primary industries and regions.