Livestock biosecurity program contacts

Western Australia exports about 80% of its livestock and livestock product annually, a market valued at $2 billion in 2015/16. The Livestock Biosecurity program within the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development (DPIRD) manages evidence-based systems that maintain and independently verify our high animal health and food safety status. These systems underpin our export and domestic markets and assure consumers that our livestock products are free of residues, contaminants and disease agents.

Listed below are contacts for the DPIRD Livestock Biosecurity program.

Protect your markets and human health - report livestock disease to a vet

The earlier diseases are reported to a vet, the faster they can be controlled, minimising the impact on individual farmers and industry. To report unusual disease signs, abnormal behaviour or unexpected deaths in your livestock, contact:

  • your private veterinarian
  • your closest DAFWA field veterinary officer - see table below, or
  • the Emergency Animal Disease hotline 1800 675 888 (not to be used for general agriculture enquiries).

Field Veterinary Officers - contact details

Albany

Dr Andrew Larkins

andrew.larkins@agric.wa.gov.au

+61 (0)8 9892 8530

+61 (0) 438 610 437

 

Dr David Forshaw

david.forshaw@agric.wa.gov.au

+61 (0)8 9892 8471

+61 (0)404 819 530

Katanning

Dr Andrew Larkins

andrew.larkins@agric.wa.gov.au

+61 (0)8 9892 8530

+61 (0) 438 610 437

Narrogin

Dr Anna Erickson

anna.erickson@agric.wa.gov.au

+61 (0)8 9881 0211

+61 (0)437 801 416

Bunbury

Dr Kevin Hepworth

kevin.hepworth@agric.wa.gov.au

+61 (0)8 9780 6282

+61 (0)475 834 486

Merredin

Dr Rod Thompson

rod.thompson@agric.wa.gov.au

+61 (0)8 9690 2156

+61 (0)467 766 720

Northam

Dr Rod Thompson

rod.thompson@agric.wa.gov.au

+61 (0)8 9690 2156

+61 (0)467 766 720

Geraldton

Dr Gill Scroxton

gill.scroxton@agric.wa.gov.au

+61 (0)8 9956 8571

+61 (0)418 943 064

Broome

Dr Graham MacKereth

graham.mackereth@agric.wa.gov.au

+61 (0)8 9194 1420

+61 (0)477 358 066

Livestock Biosecurity Policy and Planning

Director Livestock Biosecurity
Dr Peter Gray

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9368 3342
Email: peter.gray@agric.wa.gov.au

Acting Chief Veterinary Officer

Dr Jamie Finkelstein

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9368 3342
Email: jamie.finkelstein@agric.wa.gov.au

Emergency Animal Disease Preparedness
Dr Sue Skirrow

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9892 8490
Email: sue.skirrow@agric.wa.gov.au

Livestock Biosecurity client engagement and communications
Suzy Norton and

Sherin Omran

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9368 3367
Email: suzanna.norton@agric.wa.gov.au

Telephone: +61 (08) 9368 3151

Email: sherin.omran@agric.wa.gov.au

Livestock Biosecurity administration
Kim Cleasby

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9368 3342


Animal Integrity Systems (veterinary chemicals, stock identification, movement, NLIS, stockfeed)

Project Manager and
Brands Registrar
Dr Bob Vassallo

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9780 6203
Email: robert.vassallo@agric.wa.gov.au

Livestock identification and Brands,
National Livestock Identification System (NLIS)

Brands Office Telephone:
+61 (0)8 9780 6207
Email: brands@agric.wa.gov.au

NLIS operations manager
Beth Green

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9753 0302
Email: beth.green@agric.wa.gov.au

NLIS Cattle Help Desk
Jack Nixon

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9780 6222
Email: jack.nixon@agric.wa.gov.au

NLIS Sheep Help Desk
Leigh Sonneman and Jacqui Pearson

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9363 4150
Email: sheep.nlis@agric.wa.gov.au

Veterinary chemicals
Emily Lewis

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9753 0304
Email: emily.lewis@agric.wa.gov.au

Stockfeed
Dr Katie Webb

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9780 6255
Email: katie.webb@agric.wa.gov.au

Animal Health Surveillance

Project Manager
Dr Marion Seymour

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9651 0534
Email: marion.seymour@agric.wa.gov.au

National Arbovirus Monitoring Program (NAMP)
Dr Marion Seymour

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9651 0534
Email: marion.seymour@agric.wa.gov.au

National Significant Disease Investigation program WA coordinators

 

Dr Jamie Finkelstein
and

Dr Kevin Hepworth

Dr Jamie Finkelstein
Telephone: +61 (0)8 9368 3342
Email: jamie.finkelstein@agric.wa.gov.au

 

Dr Kevin Hepworth
Telephone: +61 (0)8 9780 6282
Email: kevin.hepworth@agric.wa.gov.au

RfR Subsidised Disease Investigation Pilot Program coordinator

Dr Jenny Cotter

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9892 8421
Email: jennifer.cotter@agric.wa.gov.au

Sheep, goats and horse biosecurity
Dr Anna Erickson

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9881 0211
Email: anna.erickson@agric.wa.gov.au

Cattle biosecurity

Dr Bruce Twentyman

Dr Bruce Twentyman
Telephone: +61 (0)8 9363 4127
Email: bruce.twentyman@agric.wa.gov.au

Pig biosecurity

Dr Sue Skirrow

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9892 8490
Email: sue.skirrow@agric.wa.gov.au

Poultry biosecurity, wildlife surveillance

Dr Emily Glass
 

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9368 3360
Email: emily.glass@agric.wa.gov.au

DPIRD Diagnostic Laboratory Services (DDLS) - Animal pathology

Sample submission enquiries
Telephone: +61 (0)8 9368 3351

Animal Disease Control

Project Manager
Dr Bruce Twentyman

 

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9363 4127
Email: bruce.twentyman@agric.wa.gov.au

Ovine Johne's disease
operations coordinator

Dr Anna Erickson

Telephone: +61 (0)8 9881 0211

Email: anna.erickson@agric.wa.gov.au

Johne's disease in cattle
operations coordinator

Dr Bruce Twentyman
Telephone: +61 (0)8 9363 4127
Email: bruce.twentyman@agric.wa.gov.au

Ovine brucellosis

Dr Kristine Rayner
Telephone: +61 (0)8 9780 6235
Email: kristine.rayner@agric.wa.gov.au

Footrot activity manager

Dr Jenny Cotter
Telephone: +61 (0)8 9892 8421
Email: jennifer.cotter@agric.wa.gov.au

Footrot operations manager

 

Peta Fissioli
Telephone: +61 (0)8 9690 2118
Email: peta.fissioli@agric.wa.gov.au

Post-border liver fluke
enquiries

Leigh Sonneman
Telephone: +61 (0)8 9368 3154
Email: leigh.sonneman@agric.wa.gov.au

Livestock Movement Operations:
importations into WA
and client enquiries

 

Kirsten Hall
Telephone: +61 (0)8 9334 1800
Fax: +61 (0)8 9334 1888
Email: kirsten.hall@agric.wa.gov.au

 

Contact information

Livestock Biosecurity
Page last updated: Thursday, 10 August 2017 - 11:53am