Animal Biosecurity & Welfare program contacts for Western Australia

Page last updated: Thursday, 23 June 2022 - 6:40pm

Animal Biosecurity and Welfare program management

Chief Veterinary Officer
Dr Michelle Rodan

+61 (0)8 9368 3342
michelle.rodan@dpird.wa.gov.au

A/Deputy Chief Veterinary Officer -
Market Access & Policy
Dr Sarah Kahn
 

+61 (0)8 9368 3664
sarah.kahn@dpird.wa.gov.au

Deputy Chief Veterinary Officer -
Surveillance & Control
Dr Mark Cozens

+61 (0)8 9368 3086
mark.cozens@dpird.wa.gov.au

A/Director - Animal Welfare Policy
Keith Claymore
 

+61 (0)8 9368 3575 
keith.claymore@dpird.wa.gov.au

Aquatic Animal Health
Dr Katie Webb

+61 (0)8 9780 6255
katie.webb@dpird.wa.gov.au

Policy and Planning
Dr Jamie Finkelstein

+61 (0)8 9368 3342
jamie.finkelstein@dpird.wa.gov.au
Product Integrity
Dr Brad McCormick

+61 (0)8 9780 6161
brad.mccormick@dpird.wa.gov.au

Field Service Delivery
Dr Bruce Twentyman

+61 (0)8  9363 4127
bruce.twentyman@dpird.wa.gov.au

Surveillance and Control Policy
Dr Marion Seymour

+61 (0)8 9651 0534
marion.seymour@dpird.wa.gov.au

Communications -
Suzy Norton

+61 (0)8 9368 3367
suzanna.norton@dpird.wa.gov.au

Animal Biosecurity and Welfare administration

+61 (0)8 9368 3342

Surveillance programs and biosecurity contacts

National Arbovirus Monitoring Program (NAMP)

 

​​​National Significant Disease Investigation program

 

National Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathies (TSE) Program

+61 (0)8 9651 0534
marion.seymour@dpird.wa.gov.au

 

+61 (0)8 9780 6185
courtenay.bombara@dpird.wa.gov.au

 

+61 (0)8 9780 6185
courtenay.bombara@dpird.wa.gov.au

Johne's disease in sheep
Dr Courtenay Bombara

 

Ovine brucellosis
Dr Kristine Rayner

 

Footrot
Dr Anna Erickson

+61 (0)8 9780 6185
courtenay.bombara@dpird.wa.gov.au

 

+61 (0)8 9845 7413
kristine.rayner@dpird.wa.gov.au

 

+61 (0)8 9881 0211
anna.erickson@dpird.wa.gov.au

Cattle biosecurity
Dr Herb Rovay

 

Johne's disease in cattle
Dr Courtenay Bombara

+61 (0)8 9368 3342
herbert.rovay@dpird.wa.gov.au

+61 (0)8 9780 6185
courtenay.bombara@dpird.wa.gov.au

Pig biosecurity
Dr Diana Turpin

+61 (0)8 9368 3342
diana.turpin@dpird.wa.gov.au

Poultry biosecurity
 

+61 (0)8 9368 3342
 

Wildlife surveillance
Dr Siva Thayaparan

+61 (0)8 9368 3813
sivapiragasam.thayaparan@dpird.wa.gov.au
Surveillance and disease control - subsidies for disease investigations Subsidy forms for veterinary investigations

Laboratory testing

DPIRD Diagnostics & Laboratory Services (DDLS) - Animal pathology

Lab sample submission form

Sample submission enquiries
+61 (0)8 9368 3351

DPIRD field vet contacts

Protect your markets and human health - report livestock disease to a vet

The earlier diseases are reported to a vet, the faster they can be controlled, minimising the impact on individual farmers and industry. To report unusual disease signs, abnormal behaviour or unexpected deaths in your livestock, contact:

  • your private vet
  • your closest DPIRD field vet - see table below, or
  • the Emergency Animal Disease hotline 1800 675 888 (not to be used for general agriculture enquiries).

See also: Subsidies available for eligible disease investigations.

Albany

+61 (0)8 9892 8444

Broome

 

Dr Graham Mackereth
graham.mackereth@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9194 1420
+61 (0)477 358 066

Bunbury

Dr Courtenay Bombara
courtenay.bombara@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9780 6185
+61 (0)408 672 946

Geraldton

Dr Izzy Drage
izzy.drage@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9956 8554
+61 (0)409 899 634

Katanning

Dr Courtenay Bombara
courtenay.bombara@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9780 6185
+61 (0)408 672 946

Kununurra

Dr Isabel MacPhillamy
isabel.macphillamy@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9166 4016
+61 (0)460 037 145

Moora

+61 (0)8 9651 0555 

Narrogin

Dr Anna Erickson
anna.erickson@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9881 0211
+61 (0)437 801 416

Northam

Dr Herb Rovay
herbert.rovay@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9368 3342
+61 (0)459 880 384

Perth metro/
peri-urban

Dr Herb Rovay
herbert.rovay@dpird.wa.gov.au
+61 (0)8 9368 3342
+61 (0)459 880 384

On-call vet all areas

Emergency Animal Disease Watch Hotline
1800 675 888

Product Integrity contacts (Brands, stock ID, NLIS and stock movement; chemical use and stockfeed)

1300 926 547
(1300 WA NLIS)
brands@dpird.wa.gov.au

Brands Registrar
Beth Green

+61 (0)8 9780 6159
beth.green@dpird.wa.gov.au

Veterinary chemicals
Dr Martin Matisons

+61 (0)8 9368 3634
martin.matisons@dpird.wa.gov.au

Animal feed
Faye Bowman

+61 (0)8 9368 3142
faye.bowman@dpird.wa.gov.au

Livestock import and export contacts

EXPORTERS

livestockbiosecurity@dpird.wa.gov.au

IMPORTERS

Tel: +61 (0)8 9334 1800
Fax: +61 (0)8 9334 1888
kirsten.hall@dpird.wa.gov.au

 

 


leigh.sonnemann@dpird.wa.gov.au

 

Contact information

Livestock Biosecurity