Institutional Biosafety Committee

Page last updated: Saturday, 28 September 2019 - 12:21pm

Please note: This content may be out of date and is currently under review.

The Institutional Biosafety Committee monitors all dealings with genetically modified organisms that involve the staff and research facilities of the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development (DPIRD).

In 2001, Australia adopted a national regulatory system for GM organisms. This system is underpinned by the Australian Gene Technology Act 2000 and overseen by the Office of the Gene Technology Regulator (OGTR).

The OGTR recommends that all organisations that work with GM organisms should have an Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) to ensure the monitoring and surveillance of any dealings with GM organisms by the organisation’s staff and research facilities. The IBC provides advice on:

  • the risks of dealings with GM organisms
  • management of the risks of dealing with GM organisms
  • containment of GM organisms.

The members of DPIRD's IBC are:

  • John van Schagen (Chair)
  • Dr Modika Perera (Executive Officer)
  • Katy Ashforth
  • Dr Nicky Buller
  • Dr Dean Diepeveen
  • Art Diggle
  • Jenny Garlinge
  • Ian Hall
  • Dr Darryl Hardie
  • Dr Rosalie McCauley
  • Rod Randall
  • Clive Robartson
  • Leigh Smith
  • Noel Wilson

For more information on IBC and accreditation, visit the Office of the Gene Technology Regulator website.

Contact information

Genetic Modification Policy and Regulation