Grains, Seeds and Hay Industry Funding Scheme

Page last updated: Tuesday, 5 July 2022 - 3:33pm

This page contains information about the Grains, Seeds and Hay Industry Funding Scheme (Grains, Seeds and Hay IFS) that was established to address pest and disease threats relevant to the Western Australian grains/seed/hay industry.

About the funding scheme

The Grains, Seeds and Hay Industry Funding Scheme (IFS) commenced on 1 July 2010  to address pest and disease threats relevant to the WA grains/seed/hay industry.

The scheme uses funding arrangements authorised under the Biosecurity and Agriculture Management Act 2007 (BAM Act), whereby contributions are collected from the WA grains/seed/hay industry. These contributions replace those traditionally paid to the Skeleton Weed Trust Fund that was authorised under the Plant Pest & Diseases (Eradication Funds) Act 1974.

The regulations enabling the Grains, Seeds and Hay IFS can be found on the Western Australian Legislation website.

Current programs

The scheme collects the following IFS contributions from growers: 25 cents per tonne of grain and seed, and 12.5 cents per tonne of hay. The contribution applies only to the first sale of produce grown in the agricultural areas of WA*.

The contributions fund programs to manage skeleton weed and eradicate three-horned bedstraw, and may also be used to manage potential future incursions of other pests/diseases that are a priority to the industry. The scheme operates in the agricultural areas of WA*.

*Defined to include all local government districts of WA except for those comprising the Kimberley (Broome, Halls Creek, Derby-West Kimberley and Wyndham-East Kimberley) and the pastoral area (Ashburton, Carnarvon, Coolgardie, Cue, Dundas, East Pilbara, Exmouth, Laverton, Leonora, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Meekatharra, Menzies, Mount Magnet, Murchison, Ngaanyatjarraku, Port Hedland, Roebourne, Sandstone, Shark Bay, Upper Gascoyne, Wiluna and Yalgoo).

Industry Management Committee (IMC)

The Grains, Seeds and Hay IFS is overseen by a seven-member committee:

  • Rod Birch - Chair (Coorow)
  • Anne Wilkins - Deputy Chair (Badgingarra)
  • Jules Alvaro (Merredin)
  • Michael Dagostino (Harvey)
  • Jude Foss (Bruce Rock)
  • Peter Harkness (Esperance)
  • Hellene McTaggart (Mingenew)

See also the Grains, Seeds and Hay IMC strategic plan.

For information on the selection criteria for committee members please refer to the terms of reference.

Opting out of the scheme

Participants in the scheme are entitled to benefits such as assistance and compensation (in qualifying circumstances) relating to the priority pests/diseases being addressed by the scheme. If growers do not want to contribute to the scheme, there is the option to 'opt out'.

Contributions are mandatory in the first instance, but a grower who has opted out can have their annual contributions refunded in full. If you wish to opt out, you must do so between 1 and 30 June each year. See opting out for more information.

Deduction and remittance of contributions

Every individual/entity purchasing or receiving 500 tonnes or more of grain/seed/hay (in combination) in a given financial year is required to register with the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development. These 'registered receivers' are responsible for deducting and forwarding IFS contributions on behalf of growers. See deduction and remittance of contributions for more information.