Animal Welfare Advisory Committee

Page last updated: Tuesday, 12 April 2022 - 9:25pm

Please note: This content may be out of date and is currently under review.

The State's Animal Welfare Advisory Committee (AWAC) is a non-statutory body established to provide independent and expert advice to the Minister for Agriculture and Food on animal welfare related matters.


The role of the AWAC is to advise the Minister in relation to:

  • animal welfare policy, legislation or legislative proposals that affect animal welfare
  • animal welfare codes of practice, standards and guidelines, including arrangements for implementation
  • community education and other programs to improve public awareness about animal welfare
  • the development and implementation of standards relevant to training and competency assessment of appointment of inspectors under the Animal Welfare Act 2002
  • animal welfare research
  • any animal welfare-related matter in relation to which the Minister seeks advice.


Current members of the AWAC are:

  • Professor Clive Phillips (Chair)
  • Dr Susan O’Keeffe
  • Mrs Dawn Lowe
  • Mr Michael Sheehy
  • Mr Dean Huxley
  • Ms Joanna Williams

More information

AWAC’s Terms of Reference has more information about the operation of the committee.

Contact information

Animal Welfare General Enquiries